Skip to Main Content

Scope and Function

The Bruin Learn Working Group is charged with advising on how to maintain and advance the Bruin Learn LMS as a foundational component of a world-class, integrated teaching and learning experience for faculty and students that sets the standard for teaching excellence, academic achievement, and inclusivity. In alignment with the university’s mission and the campus IT strategy, as established by the Executive IT Governance Board, the Bruin Learn Working Group:

  • Advises the LMS Center of Excellence (CoE) on all aspects of the operation and support of Bruin Learn by representing the diverse needs of UCLA’s many stakeholders in the LMS, including faculty, students, and staff.
  • Escalates significant issues and opportunities to the Academic Technology Committee for decision-making.   
  • Encourages campus-wide new and established uses of the LMS in support of teaching and learning at UCLA.

Read more about the Bruin Learn Working Group in the Charter (updated June 2023).

2023-2024 Academic Year Membership

First Last Title
Guy Adams Division Area Director, ASUCLA (ex officio)
Ava Arndt Interim Director for Online Teaching & Learning, Teaching and Learning Center (TLC)
Allison Benedetti Interim Associate University Librarian (ex officio)
Jessica Collett Professor & Vice Chair, Sociology (Academic Senate Representative)
Alison Frand Associate Professor, David Geffen School of Medicine
Thomas Garbelotti Instructional Technologies Manager
Jess Gregg Senior Associate Director, Center for Education Innovation & Learning in the Sciences (CEILS)
Linda Holmes Director, Operations and IT Services, Arts & Architecture
Ilana Intonato Executive Director, Academic Technology (Co-Chair)
Daniel Kamei Professor, Bioengineering (Academic Senate Representative)
Caroline Kong Instructional Designer & Technologist, Teaching and Learning Center (TLC)
Travis Lee Disabilities and Computing Coordinator (ex officio)
Jeff Maloy Associate Teaching Professor, Department of Life Sciences 
AJ Mason Interim Testing Center Coordinator, Center for Accessible Education (ex officio)
Arun Pasricha CIO, Student Affairs (ex officio)
Debra Pires Academic Administrator, Life Sciences
Erin Sanders O'Leary Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning, UCLA Teaching & Learning Center (TLC) (Co-Chair)
Christian Spreitzer Director, Undergraduate Education IT (ex officio)
Lauren Vuong Director of Education Accessibility, USAC (Undergraduate Student Representative)
Margery Tran Director of Instructional Design, UCLA Anderson School of Management
Frank Wada Executive Director and University Registrar (ex officio)
Kristen Weiss Undergraduate Student Representative 


Agenda and Notes

May 10, 2024

- Polling/Engagement Technologies Discussion

- Help Menu Redesign

- Default Course Navigation Menu

- Perusall

April 12, 2024

Course Material Link Placement Options

Perusall Decision Discussion

- Polling/Engagement Technologies

March 8, 2024

- Bruin Learn Help Menu Redesign Mockup

- Perusall “Course Choice” 

- Backlog Prioritization Survey Results 

- Upcoming Spring 2024 Enhancements

February 9, 2024

- UCLA ITS: Reimagine IT

- Projects in Flight

- Backlog Prioritization 

January 12, 2024

- Peer Review Pilot Update

- Bruin Learn Help Menu Redesign 

December 11, 2023

- Bruin One Access Discussion

- Peer Pilot Review Update 

- Call for Generative AI Special Interest Group

November 17, 2023

- Membership Updates and December Meeting

- Bruin One Access

- UCLA Creating the Future: Strategic Plan

- Call for Generative AI Special Interest Group

- Winter 2024 Enhancements

October 13, 2023

- Academic Technology Product Lifecycle

- Upcoming BLWG Meeting Dates 

September 15, 2023
- Announcements
- Membership
- AI Detection & Enable Features Results
August 18, 2023
- Announcements
- Academic Technology Fall 2023 Expo
- Bruin Learn Global Announcements
- Fall Enhancements
- AI Detection Update
- Peer Review Pilot Update
- Product Roadmap Tool Update
June 23, 2023
- Announcements
- AI Detection Testing Decision
- Peer Review Selection Results
- Bruin Learn Roadmap & Product Feature Requests
- Charter Changes
May 19, 2023
- Peer Review​
- Turnitin & AI Detection Strategy Recommendation​
- BLWG Membership & Charter Changes​
- Summer Enhancements​
April 21, 2023
- Updates and Announcements
- AI Detection
- BLWG Membership & Charter
- Peer Review
March 17, 2023
- Upcoming Spring Enhancements 
- Discussion: Bruin Learn Backlog (Pt. 2)​
- Update: Enhancement Request Process​
- Teaching Assistant (TA) Role and Permissions Configuration ​
February 17, 2023
- iClicker Timeline Results​
- Exercise: Bruin Learn Backlog​
- Pilot Engagement: Simple Syllabus​
- Discussion: Policy Considerations ​
January 20, 2023
- Decision Threshold Results​
- Enhancement Request Process ​
- iClicker Recommendation​
- Explorance Blue​
- Kaltura Upgrade​
- Discussion: Local Support Personnel ​
december 16, 2022
- Bruin Learn CoE Website Launch Demo​
- Bruin Learn Winter Enhancements​
- Discussion: Sharing Information & Soliciting Feedback​
- Decision Thresholds Edits & Ratification​
- iClicker Implementation Timeline & Considerations​
November 9, 2022
- Overview and Expectation Level-Set​
- 2022 to 2023 BLWG Membership​
- Bruin Learn Current State​
- Future State: Enhancement Requests​
- Possible Enhancement Decision Thresholds ​
- Enhancements in Action: iClicker Cloud​
- Advisory Committee Feedback​
- Pilots

November Meeting Minutes

November Meeting Slides


  • Second Friday of every month

Future Meetings

  • June 14, 2024
  • July 12, 2024
  • August 9, 2024
  • September 13, 2024

Previous Members

First Last Title
Marisa Miller Instructional Designer, School of Dentistry
David Marcus Professor, School of Law
Jeff Eldredge Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Louis Gomez Professor, Education and Information Studies